News

Cultivate Your Knowledge in Tribal Agritourism: Trends, Challenges and Opportunities

by nlc-admin | July 7, 2017

A Free Webinar under First Nations Development Institute’s “First Nations Knowledge” Webinar Series  2 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time (1 p.m. Pacific / 3 p.m. Central / 4 p.m. Eastern) Thursday, July 27 Agritourism presents a unique opportunity for tribes to draw tourists to their communities, with the resulting economic benefit, while preserving and growing localized food […]

ConnectHome

by nlc-admin | June 21, 2017

A public-private collaboration to narrow the digital divide for families with school-age children who live in HUD-assisted housing.  Program has launched in 28 communities.   Stakeholders provide free and low-cost: —  High-speed Internet at Home;    —  Computers;     —  Digital Literacy Training ConnectHome Nation expects to welcome more than 100 communities with the goal of connecting 350,000 […]

USDA Rural Development list of Native American Coordinators by State

by nlc-admin | June 21, 2017

The following link is for the list of USDA Rural Development list of Native American Coordinators by State: USDA Rural Development list of Native American Coordinators by State

US Department of Veteran Affairs Tribal Roundtable Invitation – July 12, 2017 @ 3 PM

by nlc-admin | June 20, 2017

On September 28, 2016, the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) facilitated tribal consultation in Washington, D.C., with a comment period through November 30, 2016, on VA’s community care consolidation effort. VA received many comments from tribes, and as a result, VA is renewing existing reimbursement agreements through June 30, 2019. As reflected in the renewal amendment language, VA and […]

Fannie Mae’s Duty To Serve” Initiative and Indian Country

by nlc-admin | June 15, 2017

Fannie Mae’s “Duty-to-Serve” Initiative in Native Country is trying to bring more conventional lending into underserved markets.  In December 2016, the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) issued the Duty to Serve Underserved Markets rule. This rule ensures that Fannie Mae continues providing leadership to facilitate a secondary market for and improve the availability of home […]